Christmas Countdown Day 3

Today is best summed by cranberries and queues.

One of my priorities for today was to get the card that needs to go to Australia in the post which meant I found myself at the back of a long queue at the Post Office, followed by another long queue to buy the one Christmas card I couldn’t buy on Sunday as its recipient was out shopping with me. I then joined the final queue of the day to order some mussels for the pre-Christmas big meal we have when, my parents come to visit.

Once I returned home it was then onto cranberries, which were firstly turned into cranberry sauce ready for the big day and all the cold leftover turkey in the days that follow. That is now safely stored in the freezer ready to be defrosted for Christmas Day.

Cranberries

The second batch of cranberries were turned into cranberry mincemeat which is now sat in the cupboard waiting for me to start making mince pies. We will have the traditional sort but cranberry mincemeat makes for a bit of variety.

If you want recipes then I refer you to Nigella’s Christmas cookbook. Ms Lawson is definitely responsible for much of the food I now bake over Christmas, although Mr Jamie Oliver, Ms Delia Smith and Mr Gordon Ramsay also make contributions to mine and my family’s waistlines over the festive period.

Leave a comment